Meeting Awards

At each Annual Meeting, ASB honors excellence in research presented at the meeting. Individual meeting awards are selected based on the quality of the abstract submissions and oral presentations (Journal of Biomechanics and Clinical Biomechanics Awards) or the quality of a poster presentation (President’s Award). The winners of the meeting awards are announced at the close of the meeting.


Recognizes substantive and conceptually novel mechanics approaches explaining how biological systems function.

2022 Award Finalists

Shear wave tensiometry predictions of Achilles tendon force during running
Alex J. Reiter, Jack A. Martin , Keith A. Knurr, and Darryl G. Thelen

Direct intraoperative length-tension measurements of human gracilis muscle
Benjamin I. Binder-Markey, Lomas S. Persad, Alexander Y. Shin, William Litchy, Kenton R. Kaufman, and Richard L. Lieber

Past Journal of Biomechanics Winners



The metabolic cost of walking balance control and adaption in young adults
Shawn Ahuja and Jason R. Franz 

Exploring the functional boundaries and metabolism of triceps surae force-length relations during walking
Callum J. Funk, Rebecca L. Krupenevich, Gregory S. Sawicki, and Jason R. Franz


Recognizes outstanding new biomechanics research targeting a contemporary clinical problem.

2022 Award Finalists

Characterization of elbow flexion recovery following surgery for traumatic brachial plexus injury
Eric J. Noonan, Sandesh G. Bhat, Griffin Mess, Emily Miller, Paul Kane, Alexander Y. Shin, Kenton R. Kaufman

Patellofemoral knee mechanics 3 months after acl reconstruction are associated with markers of patellofemoral cartilage degradation 24 months after surgery
Jack R. Williams, Kelsey Neal, Abdulmajeed Alfayyadh, Jacob J. Capin, Ashutosh Khandha, Kurt Manal, Lynn Snyder-Mackler, Thomas S. Buchanan

Past Clinical Biomechanics Award



Imu-derived ergonomic metrics measured during daily life may differentiate manual wheelchair users with spinal cord injury with and without rotator cuff pathology progression
Omid Jahanian, Meegan G. Van Straaten, Brianna M. Goodwin, Stephen M. Cain, Jonathan D. Barlow, Naveen S. Murthy, and Melissa M. B. Morrow

Redistribution of muscular work by children with cerebral palsy walking in crouch
Anahid Ebrahimi, Michael Schwartz, Jack Martin, Tom Novacheck, and Darryl Thelen

President’s Award

More information coming soon

Past President's Award Winners


SHH! Quiet Running Promotes Sustained Reduction in Ground Reaction Force
Kevin Dames, Darah Rothstein, Larissa True, and Jacqueline Augustine
SUNY Cortland & New Mexico State University